People take such pride

Wayside Fountain

There is a delightful drive to be had through rolling countryside from Salir back down to Loule.  At certain points you get great vistas of a broad valley and the hills of the Benemola Forest off to the left.  There isn’t a lot of local traffic so you can putter along at your own speed, soaking up the sunshine and capturing details of the scenery.

Much to my delight, I discovered near the crest of one hill that someone had created this tiny stopping point.  A place that is pretty and quiet, right by the side of the road.  I’m sure it was a man who created this small place for stretching your legs and relaxing your soul, because it is exactly the sort of thing my eccentric father would have created.  The fontanario is beautifully finished in traditional Portuguese cobblestone.  The roses and succulents that garnish the fountain were stunning.  And there is even a stone table and bench offered so that you can indulge in a comfortable picnic if you are so inclined.

I have no idea why the fontanario is there.  Does it commemorate an anniversary?  a person?  Is it just a whimsy on the part of some kind citizen?  Is it a community project?  (although I doubt this.  there isn’t any signage and it is too quirky, too individualistic an offering.)

Whatever its purpose, the fontanario reminds me why I have chosen this part of the world for my primary focus.  It is hospitality graciously offered.  It presumes that even in this age of fast cars and good roads people need a place where they can stop for a moment and enjoy some beauty.  And mostly it expresses the creative urge of someone with a need for a bigger, more public conversation with the world.  Three cheers for individual expressions of creativity!

Leave a comment